code of community responsibility

NH State Laws Regarding Alcohol and Drugs

New Hampshire State Laws Governing Alcohol

• The legal age for possession and consumption of alcohol in New Hampshire is 21. It is illegal for underage people to transport, possess, or consume alcohol.
• It is unlawful to purchase alcohol for, or to give or sell alcohol to, an underage individual or a person under the influence of alcohol.
• The falsification of identification and misrepresentation of age to obtain alcohol is illegal. Acceptable proof of age must be established by a driver's license with a photograph or a State of New Hampshire identification card. Such card may be secured through the office of the New London town clerk. Violators are subject to fines and other penalties.
• Driving under the influence (D.U.I.) of alcohol or any drug is unlawful. No person shall drive or attempt to drive a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol while there is .08% or more by weight of alcohol in their blood (.02% for minors).
• It is illegal for persons of any age to consume alcohol in or on public areas of the town. These areas include: streets, sidewalks, parking lots, beaches, and buildings. Violators are subject to fines and/or arrest.
• Internal Possession: A person under the age of 21 is guilty of a violation if he or she is intoxicated (any amount of alcohol in system) due to consumption of an alcoholic beverage. $300 minimum for the first offense, $600 minimum for subsequent offenses, possible additional penalties such as the loss of New Hampshire State Driver's License even if the violation does not occur while operating a vehicle.

New Hampshire also has a Party Host Liability Law. Students should be familiar with their responsibilities under this law. For more information click here

(Refer to Your Right to Know distributed annually by the department of Campus Safety for additional information about campus resources and New Hampshire State Laws regarding alcohol and illicit drug use as well as additional information about the Drug-Free Schools and Communities Act of 1989 (Public Law 101-226)).