alumni service award

Presented each year at Alumni Fall Festival, the Alumni Service Award recognizes an alumna/us who has made outstanding volunteer service contributions to Colby-Sawyer and to the public on either a local, national or international level.

Nancy Woodring Hansen 64

2014 Award Recipient: Nancy Woodring Hansen '64

Nancy has been a longtime volunteer at Colby-Sawyer. She has served the class of '64 as a class agent and a class correspondent, and has served on numerous reunion committees. She has hosted events for her college and has represented Colby-Sawyer at presidential inaugurations at other colleges and universities. Nancy has served her college as a member of the Board of Trustees and she is currently a member of the Colby-Sawyer President's Alumni Advisory Council. Nancy and her husband Roger are loyal donors to the Colby-Sawyer Fund and have also supported capital projects and priorities on campus.

Nancy's volunteerism doesn't stop with her college, as she has also supported numerous organizations in her home communities of Keene, NH, and Centerville, MA. She worked with the Monadnock United Way as a representative for St. Joseph School while teaching there 1987-1998. She was a board member for the Monadnock Area Pastoral Counseling Service and served 3 years as board president. She served on an advisory council as well as a fundraising committee for the Cedarcrest Center for Disabled Children, as well as the advisory council for Monadnock Family Services. Other organizations benefiting from Nancy's board membership are the Thorne Sagendorph Art Gallery at Keene State College, the Craigville Christian Camp Meeting Association and the Craigville Cottage Owners Association.

Past Award Winners

2013 JoAnn Franke Overfield '68
2012 Gail Graham Lee '62
2011 Karen Craffey Eldred '86
2010 Ann Hoar Floyd '60
2009 Marsha Halpin Johnson '59
2008 Ethelyn "Jackie" Dorr Symons '35
2007 Nancy Shumway Adams '52
2006 Nancy Hoyt Langbein '56
2003 Nancy Nielsen Williams '59
2002 Sandy Hall Devine'66 and Ellie Goodwin Cochran '71
2001 No award given
2000 Jen Ellis '85 and Jean Morley Lovett '45
1999 No award given
1998 Martha McCracken Howard '38
1997 Margaret Fish Langa '47
1996 Marjorie Johnston Rawls '36 and Barbara Melendy Parker
1995 Nancy Dean Maynard '45
1994 Anne Dwyer Milne '54
1993 Sally King Cramer '43 and Mary Scheu Teach '43
1992 Anne Baynes Hall '67
1991 Patricia A. Thornton '56
1990 Susan Morrison Mayer '56
1989 Janet Rich Nixon '54
1988 Barbara Hamilton Hopkins '48
1987 Polly Heath Kidder '52
1986 Charlotte Cobb Stahl '51
1985 Eleanor Morrison Goldthwait '51, '52
1984 Pauline Rogers Barker '34
1983 Helen Thomas Lethbridge '48 and Mary Scheu Teach '43
1982 Barbara Clough '31
1981 Barbara Johnson Stearns '32
1980 Harriet Gott Kidder '31
1979 Mary Trafton Simonds '38
1978 Sally Kleindienst Fifield '45
1977 Gretchen Hoch White '53
1976 Genevieve Millar '32
1975 No award given
1974 Judge Martha Ware '37